top of page

Whistle Down The Wind

The show Whistle Down The Wind was at Palace Theatre in Westcliff. For this show I was on follow spot which was an amazing experience since I had never had a follow spot role before. I started the work experience on Monday the 16th October. When I got there on the Monday I met with the crew I would be working with through the coming week.

On the Tuesday I was given a que sheet which gave me a spot que, the lx que to go on, who to aim the spot at, what size the spot should be, where the person should be standing and when to fade or snap out. That afternoon I had the first chance to get to know the spot I was going to be using and test it out in the dress rehearsal. The dress rehearsal went well but during the dress rehearsal I had to add and change some ques.

The next morning I finished typing up a complete que sheet which had all of the new ques on and printed it out ready for that nights show. The show went fantastically with everything going to plan and the show overall looked great with the amazing set and the realistic costume which the lighting complemented very well.

Thursday was the first matinee performance so I had to get to the theatre before 2.00 pm and would be finishing around 10.30 pm. Both shows went great and on each show my follow spot skills were getting better and better.

The Friday I only had an evening performance in which my follow spotting was becoming a lot smoother than when I started off because I had never used one.

By the last two shows on the Saturday I had memorised the que list. The two shows went phenomenally and I really enjoyed my time there getting to know the people and equipment that were there and would hope to go back there in the near future and do another show.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page